Let Loose

A Walk in the Forest

A Walk in the Forest

I just had the best day with my family. The hubby, kiddos, dogs and I went into the forest for some winter fun. The sky was clear bright blue, it was warm. 32 degrees is warm for me. Sad, I know. There was not an ounce of wind, and everyone wore a smile. Even my surely two-year-old was happy.

Life has thrown a few curve balls at us recently, and it is sometimes hard to stop thinking, and controlling, the situation. Today was different. When I felt the warm sun and really took in the beauty of my surroundings, I gave it all up.

I took the cue from my beautiful girls and threw snowballs. We made fresh tracks with our sleds, built a snow fort complete with a deck, kitchen stocked with various treats crafted from snow, and most importantly laughter.

Bigfoot's Tracks

Bigfoot's Tracks

Children’s smiles and giggles are infectious. There was so much laughter today that it renewed my spirit. Even the dogs wore a smile today.

Sometimes it is necessary to stop acting like an adult and play like a child. Really play. Be so connected with your kids that you can actually taste chocolate when they bring you chocolate snow cookies. It is invigorating to play like a child. You are free to use your imagination without anyone looking at you like you’re from another planet. I guarantee that any burdens you may be carrying will melt away, at least temporarily.

After you experience this freedom your mind will be clear and you will have a new perspective. Laughter truly is the best medicine.

0243I like to think that I’m a fun Mom. There is always lots of crafting, baking, and silly games. However, after today I have new goals. The expressions on my girls’ faces when they were playing with us will be forever ingrained in my memory. I definitely want more of that.
035

My challenge to you for the week is to see the world through the eyes of a child. Play like no one is watching, sing like no one is listening, and LAUGH until your belly hurts!

Leave a Reply

